Neil Gaiman, the Worldcon, and everything

Posted in meetings at 4:40 pm by åka

As you might know, we are arranging a meeting at the library on February 11, open for everyone, where we will talk about Neil Gaiman and about the World Science Fiction Convention in Montreal this summer. It will be more of meeting and discussion than lecture, but we will bring tons of information and stuff. More information here. (If you have seen the notice in the Queen’s Gazette calendar I will have to point out that this will be a discussion about Neil Gaiman, not with him. To actually meet him you will have to try for example the Worldcon.)

Neil Gaiman recently was awarded the Newbery medal, a prestigious award in children’s literature, for his The Graveyard Book. If you are interested to know more, go here for streaming radio and an excerpt of the book.

Hope to see you on February 11, especially if you are new to FFF or to fandom!



The Hugo Awards at Anticipation

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:13 pm by åka

As you might know, the Hugo Awards are the great awards of fandom to the best works in science fiction (in the widest sense, of course fantasy is included) in several categories. You can read all about the rules other things on The Hugo Awards website. If you are planning on going to the World Science Fiction Convention in Montreal this August (this year the convention is called Anticipation, in case you are confused), you can vote. Actually, you can still nominate if you get your membership this week.

It’s always easier to vote than to nominate, at least in my opinion. To nominate I would like to have a better overview of what has been coming out in the field, and when it comes to for example short fiction there is so much coming out that I have no idea where to start.

People have asked me about how to get the membership. If you click on the link “register online” you will be asked for credit card information over PayPal. This works fine even if you don’t have a PayPal account. In case you don’t have a credit card, or don’t want to use it, there is also the option to print the registration form and send it to the committee with a cheque. They also take money orders. There is always a way!

Anyway, for the information meeting at the library on February 11 I will bring membership forms and all sorts of information. (And if you have seen the little notice in the calendar of the Queen’s Gazette I need to tell you that there will be no discussion with Neil Gaiman, only about his writing and related things.)

Until then, if you like, you can check how many of the Hugo winners for best novel you have read. How many of the authors have you read? How many of the winning books? Here is the complete list (I hope it’s correct). There are of course also the awards for best novella, novelette and short story, and dramatic presentation, and related books, and editor, and fan writer, and fanzine, and so on… we’ll take them another time!

  • 1946: The Mule by Isaac Asimov
  • 1951: Farmer in the Sky by Robert A. Heinlein
  • 1953: The Demolished Man, Alfred Bester
  • 1955: They’d Rather Be Right, Mark Clifton and Frank Riley
  • 1956: Double Star by Robert A. Heinlein
  • 1959: A Case of Conscience by James Blish
  • 1960: Starship Troopers by Robert A. Heinlein
  • 1961: A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller
  • 1962: Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein
  • 1963: The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick
  • 1964: Way Station by Clifford D. Simak
  • 1965: The Wanderer by Fritz Leiber
  • 1966: … And Call Me Conrad by Roger Zelazny [tie]
    Dune by Frank Herbert[tie]
  • 1967: The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein
  • 1968: Lord of Light by Roger Zelazny
  • 1969: Stand on Zanzibar by John Brunner
  • 1970: The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • 1971: Ringworld by Larry Niven
  • 1972: To Your Scattered Bodies Go by Philip José Farmer
  • 1973: The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
  • 1974: Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke
  • 1975: The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • 1976: The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
  • 1977: Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang by Kate Wilhelm
  • 1978: Gateway by Frederik Pohl
  • 1979: Dreamsnake by Vonda McIntyre
  • 1980: The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C. Clarke
  • 1981: The Snow Queen by Joan D. Vinge
  • 1982: Downbelow Station by C. J. Cherryh
  • 1983: Foundation’s Edge by Isaac Asimov
  • 1984: Startide Rising by David Brin
  • 1985: Neuromancer by William Gibson
  • 1986: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • 1987: Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
  • 1988: The Uplift War by David Brin
  • 1989: Cyteen by C. J. Cherryh
  • 1990: Hyperion by Dan Simmons
  • 1991: The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • 1992: Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • 1993: A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge (tie)
    Doomsday Book by Connie Willis (tie)
  • 1994: Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • 1995: Mirror Dance by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • 1996: The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson
  • 1997: Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • 1998: Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
  • 1999: To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
  • 2000: A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge
  • 2001: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
  • 2002: American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  • 2003: Hominids by Robert J. Sawyer
  • 2004: Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • 2005: Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
  • 2006: Spin by Robert Charles Wilson
  • 2007: Rainbows End by Vernor Vinge
  • 2008: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon


Neil Gaiman and the Worldcon

Posted in fandom, fantastic literature, meetings at 1:19 pm by åka

Neil Gaiman is an interesting author, and we thought it would be fun to have a Neil Gaiman theme meeting now that he is coming to the Worldcon in Montreal and everything. What we will do is an open information and discussion night at the library. Here is the official invitation text:

This summer, Montreal will be hosting the 2009 World Science Fiction Convention (also known as Worldcon), the most important annual meeting on the science fiction and fantasy calendar. The prestigious annual Hugo Awards will be handed out at the convention.

Neil Gaiman, one of the masters of contemporary fantasy and the author of the ground breaking graphic novel Sandman, is a Guest of Honour this year. His writing has won him numerous awards and a new movie
based on his novella Coraline is scheduled to be released on February 6th.

Want to learn more about Neil Gaiman and the Worldcon? Then join us for an evening of information and discussion on February 11th at 7pm at the Central Branch of the Kingston Frontenac Public Library. This event is hosted by Fearless Fantasy Fans and KFPL.

(If you happen to read this on January 13, remember that there is also a meeting tonight, at 7pm at the Sleepless Goat.)